Faculty & Staff

Tenure-line Faculty

Shelly Brown-Jeffy

Shelly L. Brown-Jeffy

Associate Professor
slbrown2@uncg.edu
323 Graham
336-334-3692

Research Interests:

Race & ethnic relations & sociology of education

Read More »

Steven R. Cureton

Associate Professor
srcureto@uncg.edu
334 Graham
336-334-3577

Research Interests:

Juvenile delinquency, gangs, & discretionary justice

Read More »

Sarah Daynes

Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
scdaynes@uncg.edu
329 Graham
336-334-3688

Research Interests:

Theory, ethnography, culture

Read More »

Cindy Brooks Dollar

Assistant Professor
cbdollar@uncg.edu

Research Interests:

Sociology of crime, deviance and social control, criminological theory, sex-gender and race-ethnic inequalities

Read More »

Trevor Hoppe

Assistant Professor
tahoppe@uncg.edu
Graham 317

Research Interests:

Sexuality, medicine, & law

Read More »

Daniel Huebner

Assistant Professor
drhuebne@uncg.edu
330 Graham

Research Interests:

Theory

Read More »

Gwen Hunnicut

Gwen Hunnicutt

Associate Professor
gchunnic@uncg.edu
316 Graham
336-334-3705

Research Interests:

Gender violence, collective violence and non-violence, sociology of gender, crime and deviance

Read More »

Sahan Savas Karatasli

Assistant Professor
skaratasli@uncg.edu
Graham 318

Research Interests:

Political economy, theory, global sociology, social movements, labor, quantitative & comparative-historical methods.

Read More »

David Kauzlarich

Professor & Department Head
dakauzla@uncg.edu
337 Graham
336-334-3765

Research Interests:

Critical Criminology, crimes of the powerful, & social justice

Read More »

Steve Kroll-Smith

Steve Kroll-Smith

Professor
s_krolls@uncg.edu
315 Graham
336-334-5295

Research Interests:

Environmental sociology & race and ethnic relations

Read More »

Arielle T. Kuperberg

Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
atkuperb@uncg.edu
333 Graham
336-334-9768

Research Interests:

Family, demography, quantitative methodology, work and gender, & sexuality

Read More »

Zachary Levenson

Assistant Professor
zachary.levenson@uncg.edu
Graham 327

Research Interests:

Global politics, urban sociology, political sociology, race and ethnicity, ethnography, & social theory

Read More »

Stephen J. Sills

Associate Professor and Director, The Center for Housing and Community Studies
sjsills@uncg.edu
3605 MHRA
336-334-3731

Research Interests:

Fair housing, community-engaged research, program evaluation, & immigrant incorporation

Read More »

Tad Skotnicki

Assistant Professor
tpskotni@uncg.edu
321 Graham
336-334-5609

Research Interests:

Comparative historical sociology, theory, social movements, culture, consumption, & humanitarianism

Read More »